A Day in the Life of Lauren Rasky-Monarch Beach’s February Instructor of the Month

o-n-e-d-r-o-p

We can’t believe February is already here! The season of puppy love and passionate kisses. We are in major love for our Monarch Beach instructor of the month, Lauren Rasky! We met this Pittsburgh sweetheart last year, and we are thrilled to have her back on the blog.
Today she is taking us through a “day in her life.”
Through her dancey, hip-hop heavy, and beyond fun classes at Grit Monarch Beach to her “big girl” job where she and co-worker and fellow Grit instructor Lisa Mikelson hold impromptu kitchen dance parties to shutting it down at night on the couch with her husband, Lauren leads a FULL life.
Here’s a look at our girl:

fullsizerender-1

6:30 AM: I wake up and start getting ready for my class and my day. I set out my workout clothes the night before, so I scoop those up along with my iPod that’s already loaded with that day’s playlist and I head to the bathroom to get ready. I like to listen to my playlist and visualize the class to mentally prepare while I do mindless things getting ready.

6:50 AM: I usually pack my bags the night before, but at this time, I finish packing up my food for the day and anything else I need. Then, I do a quick check-in on my work emails before I head outside to take my dogs out…still listening to my playlist.

7:30 AM: I set out my dog’s food, give my husband a kiss goodbye, and we both head out the door for the day.

fullsizerender

7:45 AM: I arrive at GRIT Cycle Monarch Beach, say “hi” to all of the beautiful Gritty Babes and head into the saddle room to test my playlist and microphone and get psyched up for class.

8:00 AM: I tuck my stuff away in the instructor room, do any final checks and open the doors for class.

8:15 AM: Class and one of the best parts of my day begins. I love teaching in the mornings. It sets the tone for my day, wakes me up, and puts me in a good mood no matter what else is going on. I also love seeing the people in my class. They seriously make me so happy.

13220955_10154244038497193_4061313424653726374_n

9:00 AM: Class ends, I say bye to all of my GRIT friends, and I head over to the office where I work my full time job.

9:20 AM: I arrive at work, still sweaty, and jump in the shower really quick. I’m lucky to work at place with a flexible schedule, a kitchen and a shower. I work with a bunch of “fitness people” who also love to work out. We all usually arrive sweaty having just worked out either at GRIT or at the gym that’s a part of our office community, so it’s nice that I’m not the only one. 

unnamed-1

9:30 AM: I make breakfast in our kitchen at work while checking in with the other girls. I do marketing and manage operations for a personal/business development company, so I use my breakfast time to connect with the team and talk about what we have going on that day. Breakfast is almost always oatmeal with blueberries and banana, chia seeds, almond milk and a little stevia or maple syrup with granola on top. It’s probably my favorite meal of the day. I love breakfast.

unnamed

9:45 AM: By this time, I’m hard at work on my computer. I spend most of my day helping manage operations, writing marketing material or working on our products. I work with another GRIT Instructor, Lisa Mikelson, and a group of girls who all love GRIT as well. I’m really fortunate to be surrounded by such awesome people all day. We work hard and make each other laugh.

12:00 PM: At lunchtime, you can find me in our work kitchen again cooking up something good. I love to cook. I usually prep my food before, so I can throw it together quickly at work. I put a sweet potato in the oven, while I steam some broccoli, kale, cabbage, onions and chickpeas. I mix it all together in a big bowl with some avocado and drizzle homemade tahini sauce on top that I make and bring in each week. I get on kicks with food and tend to eat the same thing over and over for breakfast and lunch until I get sick of it and move onto something else…so this is my typical lunch right now.

img_6305

4:00 PM: Around this time, I usually pack up my stuff and drive literally 3 minutes up the street back home (it’s the best commute ever) to finish my work there. I have two rescue dogs that are like my children, and one is special needs. He has epilepsy and liver problems, so I have to keep him on a regular eating/medicine/bathroom schedule.

5:30 PM: This is about when I finish up work for the day with the exception of checking in on a few things here and there in the evening. This is when I start making dinner. Like I said, I really enjoy cooking, so I’m always trying out new recipes and making stuff up. I also like to take pictures of my food, so if you ever catch me on social media, you probably already know what I eat every night. 😉 I follow a primarily plant based, vegan diet for health and other reasons, so I’m always trying to find new ways to make healthy food taste good. While I cook, I like to call my mom or one of my family members or friends back in Pittsburgh where we’re from. 

img_5896

6:00 PM: Hopefully, the hubster is home from work by now and we’re eating a yummy dinner…then cleaning it up.

7:30 PM: By now, we’ve cleaned up the kitchen, chilled for a little bit, and I’m off again to take my dogs for a walk. I like to listen to music during this time and get inspiration for GRIT class.

11750687_10100699765950572_2138790523135442645_n

8:00 PM: It’s time to work on my passion(s) and go to my happy place! You can either find me searching for new music and crafting a new playlist for my next GRIT class (I’m a former dancer and love hip hop or anything you can bike dance to) or working on my nutrition certifications. I recently became a Certified Holistic Nutritionist and am finishing up a Fitness Nutrition Specialist certification. This is something I’m really passionate about and would love to pursue more one day. So I spend a lot of time working on this and a program I’m putting together to help other people with what I’ve learned. Some days, I also squeeze in a strength workout lifting weights or do some yoga.

9:30 PM: I try to start winding down (I’m a night owl, so this is tough for me). I will spend time hanging out or watching a show with my hubby and the doggies. We’re currently addicted to Game of Thrones, House of Cards, real estate shows, and the new Scientology show by Leah Remini (it fascinates me)–{“Leah Rimini: Scientology and The Aftermath.”} I also set out my workout clothes and pack my bags again for the next morning. Whew! Where did the day go?

fullsizerender-3

10:30 PM: Hopefully by now, I’ve gotten my butt in bed, but it’s highly unlikely that I’m asleep. Getting more sleep is something I’m working hard on prioritizing this year. I’m usually scrolling on social media, or reading trying to get my mind to shut off. I try really hard to be lights out by 11:00 or 11:30pm, so I can be up and ready to go again for my next GRIT class or morning workout. 

That’s pretty much me in a nut shell! Nothing too crazy exciting. I’m a homebody, and I like having a small but tight knit group of people around me. I’m happiest with my husband, Mike and my 2 doggies just hanging out, teaching at GRIT, or learning something new about health and fitness.

gcmb_iotm2_lauren-01

Whew!??! That is one active girl who hustles and gets IT done!

We’re impressed Miss Lauren.

 Come and ride with this impressive and dynamic girl on the following dates and times at a discounted rate:

Friday February 3rd at 8:15am,  Wednesday February 8th at 8:15am, Sunday February 12th at 8:15am, and Monday February 20th at 8:15am. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s